You are here

Back to top

The Elephant in the Room (Hardcover)

The Elephant in the Room Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


From the New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s comes a heartfelt story about "the importance of compassion and bravery when facing life’s challenges” (Kirkus) for fans of The One and Only Ivan and Front Desk.

It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway around the world to Turkey, hoping to secure the immigration paperwork that would allow her to return to her family in the United States.

The long separation is almost impossible for Sila to withstand. But things change when Sila accompanies her father (who is a mechanic) outside their Oregon town to fix a truck. There, behind an enormous stone wall, she meets a grandfatherly man who only months before won the state lottery. Their new alliance leads to the rescue of a circus elephant named Veda, and then to a friendship with an unusual boy named Mateo, proving that comfort and hope come in the most unlikely of places.

A moving story of family separation and the importance of the connection between animals and humans, this novel has the enormous heart and uplifting humor that readers have come to expect from the beloved author of Counting by 7s.

About the Author


Holly Goldberg Sloan was born in Ann Arbor, Michigan, and spent her childhood living in Holland; Istanbul, Turkey; Washington, D.C.; Berkeley, California; and Eugene, Oregon. After graduating from Wellesley College and spending some time as an advertising copywriter, she began writing family feature films, including Angels in the Outfield and Made in America. She is the author of the New York Times best sellers Counting by 7s and Short, among other novels.

Praise For…


★ "Each character wrestles with love and loss and struggles with decisions about when to act and when to wait; each in their own way has insight into the others, and empathy for them . . . Sila wonders if people are more compassionate because of their own difficult experiences; in this unique, touching book, the answer is yes." —School Library Journal, starred review

"Using multiple narrative perspectives, [Goldberg Sloan] touches on many weighty topics (grief, autism, deportation, animal cruelty), handling each with sensitivity." —Booklist

"Sloan captures the importance of compassion and bravery when facing life’s challenges . . . themes of collectivity and community in the face of isolation and stigma are brought to the surface and themselves offer depth to this heartfelt and sincere story." —Kirkus

"Sloan (To Night Owl from Dogfish) fully builds the emotional interiors of each character, including Veda. This heartfelt tale thoughtfully conveys the agony of family separation, the beauty of nature, and the power of friendship to overcome tremendous difficulties." —Publishers Weekly

“A gorgeous and emotional novel. I loved every page.” —Cynthia Kadohata, Newbery Medal-winning author of Kira-Kira


Product Details
ISBN: 9780735229945
ISBN-10: 0735229945
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: March 2nd, 2021
Pages: 256
Language: English

We Suggest

Iron Lake (20th Anniversary Edition): A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series #1) Cover Image
Bag Man: The Wild Crimes, Audacious Cover-Up, and Spectacular Downfall  of a Brazen Crook in the White House Cover Image
Confessions of a Bookseller Cover Image
The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma Cover Image
The Rose Code: A Novel Cover Image
Brideshead Revisited: 75th Anniversary Edition Cover Image

New Releases

What Comes After: A Novel Cover Image
When the Stars Go Dark: A Novel Cover Image
Ocean Prey (A Prey Novel #31) Cover Image
Second Chances: A Marine, His Dog, and Finding Redemption Cover Image
The Sacrifice of Lester Yates: A Novel Cover Image
Yes & No Cover Image

Too Good to Miss

Just Like That Cover Image
The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration Cover Image
The Light of Days: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos Cover Image
The Hill We Climb: An Inaugural Poem for the Country Cover Image
Rule of Wolves (King of Scars Duology #2) Cover Image
Ground Zero Cover Image