You are here

Back to top

Unplugged (Hardcover)

Unplugged Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Winter 2020 Kids Indie Next List


“As a Silicon Valley billionaire’s son, Jett Baranov is completely aware that he can get away with anything short of murder. After one incident too many, his dad ships him off to Oasis, a wellness camp in rural Arkansas. The worst part about it? No electronics of any kind are permitted. While he intends to decimate Oasis by whatever means necessary, he finds himself among a group of other kids his age who are secretly raising a baby alligator they dub Needles for his prickly teeth. As the team works together caring for their forbidden reptile, Jett and his friends find there is more going on at Oasis than meets the eye. Fans of Carl Hiaasen are sure to love Unplugged, an uproarious novel full of clever and crafty kids with brave and daring personalities.”
— Andrew King, University Book Store, Seattle, WA

Description


From New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious middle grade novel about a group of kids forced to “unplug” at a wellness camp—where they instead find intrigue, adventure, and a whole lot of chaos. Perfect for fans of Korman’s The Unteachables and Masterminds series, as well as Carl Hiaasen’s eco mysteries.

As the son of the world’s most famous tech billionaire, spoiled Jett Baranov has always gotten what he wanted. So when his father’s private jet drops him in the middle of the Arkansas wilderness, at a place called the Oasis, Jett can’t believe it. He’s forced to hand over his cell phone, eat grainy veggie patties, and participate in wholesome activities with the other kids, who he has absolutely no interest in hanging out with.

As the weeks go on, Jett starts to get used to the unplugged life and even bonds with the other kids over their discovery of a baby-lizard-turned-pet, Needles. But he can’t help noticing that the adults at the Oasis are acting really strange.

Jett is determined to get to the bottom of things, but can he convince everybody that he is no longer just a spoiled brat who is making trouble?

About the Author


Gordon Korman published his first book at age fourteen and since then has written more than ninety middle grade and teen novels. Favorites include the New York Times bestselling Ungifted, Supergifted, The Unteachables, Pop, Schooled, and the Masterminds series. Gordon lives with his family on Long Island, New York. You can visit him online at www.gordonkorman.com.

Praise For…


“A provocative take on the redemptive power of friends and pets.”
— ALA Booklist (starred review)

“This fast-paced, funny friendship story will delight realistic fiction readers and fans of Korman’s work.”
— School Library Journal

“A fun, low-tech summer adventure.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Korman injects his signature dry humor throughout… Entertaining.”
Publishers Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062798893
ISBN-10: 0062798898
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: January 5th, 2021
Pages: 336
Language: English

We Suggest

Iron Lake (20th Anniversary Edition): A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series #1) Cover Image
Bag Man: The Wild Crimes, Audacious Cover-Up, and Spectacular Downfall  of a Brazen Crook in the White House Cover Image
Confessions of a Bookseller Cover Image
The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma Cover Image
The Rose Code: A Novel Cover Image
Brideshead Revisited: 75th Anniversary Edition Cover Image

New Releases

What Comes After: A Novel Cover Image
When the Stars Go Dark: A Novel Cover Image
Ocean Prey (A Prey Novel #31) Cover Image
Second Chances: A Marine, His Dog, and Finding Redemption Cover Image
The Sacrifice of Lester Yates: A Novel Cover Image
Yes & No Cover Image

Too Good to Miss

Just Like That Cover Image
The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration Cover Image
The Light of Days: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos Cover Image
The Hill We Climb: An Inaugural Poem for the Country Cover Image
Rule of Wolves (King of Scars Duology #2) Cover Image
Ground Zero Cover Image