You are here

Back to top

This Light Between Us: A Novel of World War II (Paperback)

This Light Between Us: A Novel of World War II Cover Image
$10.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Winner of the American Library Association's Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

For readers of The Librarian Of Auschwitz, This Light Between Us is a powerfully affecting story of World War II about the unlikeliest of pen pals—a Japanese American boy and a French Jewish girl—as they fight to maintain hope in a time of war.


“I remember visiting Manzanar and standing in the windswept plains where over ten thousand internees were once imprisoned, their voices cut off. I remember how much I wanted to write a story that did right by them. Hopefully this book delivers.”—Andrew Fukuda

In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is disgusted when he’s forced to become pen pals with Charlie Lévy of Paris, France—a girl. He thought she was a boy. In spite of Alex’s reluctance, their letters continue to fly across the Atlantic—and along with them, the shared hopes and dreams of friendship. Until the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the growing Nazi persecution of Jews force them to confront the darkest aspects of human nature.

From the desolation of an internment camp on the plains of Manzanar to the horrors of Auschwitz and the devastation of European battlefields, the only thing they can hold onto are the memories of their letters. But nothing can dispel the light between them.

About the Author


Born in Manhattan and raised in Hong Kong, ANDREW FUKUDA currently resides on Long Island, New York. After earning a bachelor's degree in history from Cornell University, Fukuda went on to work as a criminal prosecutor in New York City. He now writes full time. He is the author of The Hunt, The Prey, and The Trap.

Praise For…


“Fukuda (The Trap, 2013, etc.) artfully conveys Alex's inner turmoil and paints visceral combat scenes. ...An intriguing premise and fascinating tale.” —Kirkus Reviews

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250192394
ISBN-10: 1250192390
Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication Date: March 9th, 2021
Pages: 384
Language: English

We Suggest

The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen Cover Image
The Electric Kingdom Cover Image
When You Trap a Tiger: Winner of the 2021 Newbery Medal Cover Image
Hymns of the Republic: The Story of the Final Year of the American Civil War Cover Image
This Must Be the Place (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
Never Touch a Dragon! Cover Image

New Releases

The Aeneid Cover Image
A Court of Silver Flames (A Court of Thorns and Roses #4) Cover Image
The Four Winds: A Novel Cover Image
Winterkeep (Graceling Realm) Cover Image
The Witch's Heart Cover Image
Milo Imagines the World Cover Image

Too Good to Miss

The Once and Future Witches Cover Image
Courting Mr. Lincoln: A Novel Cover Image
The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
This Light Between Us: A Novel of World War II Cover Image
The Coffee Trader: A Novel Cover Image
Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy #1) Cover Image