You are here

Back to top

The Distance to Home (Hardcover)

The Distance to Home Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Rita Williams-Garcia, Jenn Bishop’s heartwarming debut is a celebration of sisterhood and summertime, and of finding the courage to get back in the game.
 
Last summer, Quinnen was the star pitcher of her baseball team, the Panthers. They were headed for the championship, and her loudest supporter at every game was her best friend and older sister, Haley.
 
This summer, everything is different. Haley’s death, at the end of last summer, has left Quinnen and her parents reeling. Without Haley in the stands, Quinnen doesn’t want to play baseball. It seems like nothing can fill the Haley-sized hole in her world. The one glimmer of happiness comes from the Bandits, the local minor-league baseball team. For the first time, Quinnen and her family are hosting one of the players for the season. Without Haley, Quinnen’s not sure it will be any fun, but soon she befriends a few players. With their help, can she make peace with the past and return to the pitcher’s mound?


Winner of the Iowa Association of School Libraries Children's Choice Award

"Recommend this poignant novel to fans of Keeping Score by Linda Sue Park and The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin."--School Library Journal 

"A piercing first novel...Bishop insightfully examines the tested relationships among grieving family members and friends in a story of resilience, forgiveness, and hope."--Publishers Weekly

"With appeal to both sports- and drama-minded girls, this will make a good book club selection and pass-it-among-your-friends read."--The Bulletin

"A sensitive, well-wrought novel perfect for both sports lovers and fans
of character-driven stories."--Booklist

About the Author


Jenn Bishop is a former youth services and teen librarian. She is a graduate of the University of Chicago, where she studied English, and Vermont College of Fine Arts, where she received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults. Along with her husband and cat, Jenn lives just outside of Boston, where she roots for the Red Sox. Visit her online at JennBishop.com.

Praise For…


“Recommend this poignant novel to fans of Keeping Score by Linda Sue Park and The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin.” —School Library Journal

“A piercing first novel. . . . Bishop insightfully examines the tested relationships among grieving family members and friends in a story of resilience, forgiveness, and hope.” —Publishers Weekly

“With appeal to both sports- and drama-minded girls, this will make a good book club selection and pass-it-among-your-friends read.” The Bulletin

Product Details
ISBN: 9781101938713
ISBN-10: 1101938714
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 28th, 2016
Pages: 240
Language: English

We Suggest

Where the Crawdads Sing Cover Image
Tangerine: A Novel Cover Image
Varina: A Novel Cover Image
Orphan Monster Spy Cover Image
I Have Lost My Way Cover Image
Brazen: Rebel Ladies Who Rocked the World Cover Image

Classics

The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories: (Penguin Orange Collection) Cover Image
It Can't Happen Here Cover Image
One Hundred Years of Solitude Cover Image
Mythology: Timeless Tales of Gods and Heroes, 75th Anniversary Illustrated Edition Cover Image
The Odyssey Cover Image
The Buccaneers Cover Image

New in Paperback

We Were the Lucky Ones: A Novel Cover Image
Anything Is Possible: A Novel Cover Image
Norse Mythology Cover Image
Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI Cover Image
The Inquisitor's Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog Cover Image
Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel Cover Image